Kenya eyes more regional trade after pact with two blocs

Kenya could soon start exporting its goods outside the East African Community (EAC) market with the implementation of a tripartite agreement that is expected to be implemented in March this year. This free trade pact will bring together three regional business blocs the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa), EAC and South African Development Community. Currently, only 11 member states have ratified the deal with Tanzania, South Africa, Mauritius and the Democratic Republic of Congo yet to endorse this trade deal. The agreement is meant to promote intraregional trade and enhance regional and continental integration among the different business blocs as it seeks to eliminate both tariff and nontariff barriers. The Tripartite Model is intended to ensure that the right commodities are produced and competitively availed to the market. Negotiations spanning five years have been taking place with the Tripartite Council of Ministers having earlier set April 2019 as the deadline for member states to ratify the agreement.


ኬንያ በያዝነው አመት መጋቢት ወር ላይ ተግባራዊ ይሆናል ተብሎ የሚጠበቀውን የሶስትዮሽ ስምምነት ተግባራዊ በማድረግ ከምስራቅ አፍሪካ ማህበረሰብ ገበያ ውጪ እቃዎቿን ወደ ውጭ መላክ ትጀምራለች። ይህ የነፃ ንግድ ስምምነት ሶስት ክልላዊ የንግድ ቡድኖችን የምስራቅ እና ደቡብ አፍሪካ የጋራ ገበያ (ኮሜሳ)፣ ኢኤሲ እና የደቡብ አፍሪካ ልማት ማህበረሰብን ያመጣል። በአሁኑ ወቅት 11 አባል ሀገራት ብቻ ይህንን የንግድ ስምምነት ከታንዛኒያ፣ ደቡብ አፍሪካ፣ ሞሪሺየስ እና ዲሞክራቲክ ሪፐብሊክ ኮንጎ ጋር ያፀደቁት። ስምምነቱ የታሪፍ እና የታሪፍ ያልሆኑ እንቅፋቶችን ለማስወገድ በሚፈልግበት ጊዜ የክልላዊ ንግድን ለማስፋፋት እና በተለያዩ የንግድ ቡድኖች መካከል ክልላዊ እና አህጉራዊ ውህደትን ለማሳደግ ያለመ ነው። የሶስትዮሽ ሞዴል ትክክለኛ ምርቶች ተመርተው በውድድር ለገበያ እንዲቀርቡ ለማድረግ የታሰበ ነው። የሶስትዮሽ የሚኒስትሮች ምክር ቤት አባል ሀገራቱ ስምምነቱን እንዲያፀድቁ ቀነ ገደብ አድርጎ ቀደም ብሎ ሚያዝያ 2019 ከያዘው ጋር አምስት አመታትን ያስቆጠረ ድርድር ሲካሄድ ቆይቷል።

1 Comment

Leave a Reply